2022-2023Dr B.S. Mahapatra
2020-2021Dr V Praveen Rao
2017-2019Dr A. K. Vyas
2015-2016Dr Gurbachan Singh
2013-2014Dr Gurbachan Singh
2011-2012Dr Arvind Kumar
2009-2010Dr M. S. Gill
2007-2008Dr R. P. S. Ahlawat
2005-2006Dr D. P. Singh
2001-2004Dr Panjab Singh
1999-2000Dr A. S. Faroda
1995-1998Dr Panjab Singh
1991-1994Dr A. S. Faroda
1989-1990Dr R. P. Singh
1985-1988Dr G. B. Singh
1981-1984Dr Maharaj Singh
1977-1980Dr P. S. Lamba
1975-1976Dr Ambika Singh
1971-1974Dr O.P. Gautam
1966-1970Dr P. C. Raheja
1955-1965Dr P. S. Deshmukh


2022-2023Central Zone: Dr S.P. Singh
South Zone: Dr G. Ravindra Chary
West Zone: Dr Shanti Kumar Sharma
2020-2021Dr Utam V. Mahadkar
2017-2019Dr V.K. Singh
2015-2016Dr A.K. Vyas
2013-2014Dr A. K. Vyas
2011-2012Dr V. M. Bhale
2009-2010Dr N. T. Yaduraju
2007-2008Dr M. S. Gill
2003-2006Dr R. C. Gautam
2001-2002Dr A. K. Dahama
1999-2000Dr K. P. Singh
1995-1998Dr Ved Pal Singh
1991-1994Dr K. N. Singh
1989-1990Dr A. K. Dahama
1985-1988Dr R. K. Rajput
1983-1984Dr U.C. Upadhyay
1981-1982Dr G. S. Sekhon
1979-1980Dr Rajendra Prasad
1977-1978Dr S. K. Mukherjee
1975-1976Dr M. K. Moolani
1973-1974Dr Ambika Singh
1971-1972Dr S. S. Bains
1966-1970Dr O. P. Gautam
1961-1965Dr. S. M. Sikka


2022-2023Dr Shiva Dhar
2020-2021Dr V. K. Singh
2017-2019Dr Y. S. Shivay
2015-2016Dr Y. S. Shivay
2013-2014Dr D.S. Rana
2011-2012Dr D.S. Rana
2009-2010Dr B. Gangaiah
2007-2008Dr A.R. Sharma
2003-2006Dr I.P.S. Ahlawat
2001-2002Dr R.C. Gautam
1997-2000Dr I.P.S. Ahlawat
1995-1996Dr R.P. Sharma
1991-1994Dr I.P.S. Ahlawat
1987-1990Dr Ganga Saran
1983-1986Dr Mahendra Pal
1979-1982Dr K.S. Parashar
1975-1978Dr Rajendra Prasad
1973-1974Dr I.C. Mahapatra
1971-1972Dr N.G. Dastane
1966-1970Dr S.S. Bains
1961-1965Dr P.C. Raheja


2022-2023Dr V. Ramamurthy
2020-2021Dr Shanti Kumar Sharma
2017-2019Dr Prashant S. Bodake
2015-2016Dr G. Ravindra Charry
2013-2014Dr Ashok Kumar
2011-2012Dr M.S. Pal
2009-2010Dr V.M. Bhale
2007-2008Dr A.K. Vyas
2005-2006Dr M.S. Gill
2003-2004Dr Kalyan Singh
1999-2002Dr B. Gangwar
1995-1998Dr Menhi Lal
1991-1994Dr Ved Pal Singh
1989-1990Dr Menhi Lal
1985-1988Dr Mahak Singh
1983-1984Dr Harpal Singh
1979-1982Dr Mahak Singh
1975-1978Dr K.N. Singh
1973-1974Dr R.B.L. Bhardwaj
1971-1972Dr S.L. Panday
1969-1970Dr M.K. Moolani
1966-1968Dr D.K. Mishra
1964-1965Dr O.P. Gautam
1955-1963Dr K.S. Yawalker


2022-2023Dr Teekam Singh
2020-2021Dr Shiva Dhar
2017-2019Dr Ashok Kumar
2015-2016Dr Ashok Kumar
2013-2014Dr Aditya Kumar Singh
2009-2010 & 2011-2012Dr Ashok Kumar
2005-2008Dr B. Gangaiah
2003-2004Dr K.S. Rana
1999-2002Dr D.S. Rana
1997-1998Dr Ashok Kumar
1995-1996Dr Y.S. Shivay
1991-1994Dr R.P. Sharma
1987-1990Dr I.P.S. Ahlawat
1985-1986Dr Ganga Saran
1981-1984Dr I.P.S. Ahlawat
1979-1980Dr R.P. Singh
1977-1978Dr K.S. Parashar
1961-1976Dr A.G. Kavitkar



DR. H.R. ARAKERI graduated in Agriculture with Honours from Bombay University in the year 1940 and obtained his M.S. degree from the University of Minnesota, USA. In 1949 he received the Ph.D. degree from the same University while working on “Environmental factor relating to the pre-emergence treatment of corn with 2, 4-D and soybean with TCA”. Dr. Arakeri has the distinction of being the only Indian receiving the coveted Outstanding Achievement Award of the University of Minnesota (USA). This award was conferred on him in 1978.

Dr. Arakeri started his career as teacher in the College of Agriculture, Pune, first as a demonstrator and then a as Lecturer in agriculture. He later joined as Professor of Agronomy at the College of Agriculture, Dharwar and then at Pune and continued to be there till August, 1954, when he joined as Sugarcane Specialist at Padegaon, the then Bombay State where he remained up to November, 1956. He then joined as Deputy Director of Agriculture in Mysore State and was later promoted as Joint Director of Agriculture and finally as the Director of Agriculture. Dr Arakeri thus held responsible positions in all the branches of Agriculture i.e. teaching, research and extension and this rich experience made him one of the pioneer State Directors of Agriculture of the Mysore State. In appreciation of his services to the Mysore State (now Karnataka), the State Government conferred on him the State Award on “Rajyotsava Day,” on November 1, 1970. In recognition of his research contributions and the rich experience he was made as a member of the National Commission on Agriculture.

Dr. Arakeri received the National Award by “Farmers Association of India” for the year 1975-76. Before joining the University of Agricultural Sciences, Bangalore as Vice Chancellor, Dr. Arakeri was a member of the National Commission on Agriculture and prior to it he was the Director of Agriculture of the Mysore state (now Karnataka). As Joint Director of Agriculture, Dr. Arakeri was responsible for planning and guiding the entire agricultural research in the Mysore state but paid special attention to the Dryland Agriculture Research. The Report of the National Commission on Agriculture, in preparing which

Dr. Arakeri had a major share, is a monumental piece of work in respect of planning agricultural research development in the country for the coming two decades. He also served as Chairman, Agricultural Scientists Recruitment Board of the Indian Council of Agricultural Research. Dr. Arakeri has been a member of Indian delegations to a number of international conferences including the Near East and South Asia Regional Land Development and Utilization Seminar at Ankara (Turkey) in 1961; Land Use and Cultivation Planning Seminar at Berlin in 1970; FAO Regional Conference for Asia and Far East at Tokyo in 1974; FAO AAACU Conference on Population Education and Rural Development at Manila in 1977; World Conference on Innovating Higher Education at Wingspread (Wisconsin, USA) in 1978 and the Third AAACU Biennial Convention at Sardang (Malaysia) in 1978. Dr. Arakeri also participated in World Food Conference held at Iowa State University (USA) in 1976 and in the Expert Consultation of FAO in Rome in 1977.

He was the first Patron of the Society from 1974 to 1979. Dr. Arakeri is the author of the books “Agriculture in India” (three volumes) and “Soil management in India.” He has published more than 100 research papers in national and international journals.