ISA P.S. Deshmukh Young Agronomist Award

This award was instituted in 1994 in the memory of Dr. P.S. Deshmukh, the first President of the Indian Society of Agronomy from 1955 to 1965 to encourage/motivate young Indian Agronomists for high quality fundamental or applied research in the field of Agronomy. The award is open to all scientists in the field of Agronomy and is awarded once in a calendar year.

• M.Sc. (Agronomy) from any recognized University/Institute in India or from abroad.
• At least five years research experience as evident from the published work in reputed journals.
• Age not more than 35 years as on 1st January of the year in which the applications are invited.

Scientists interested to apply for the award should send their application through proper channel (through the University/Institute concerned) along with six copies of the publications and synopsis (about 500 words) precisely enumerating the work done and its relevance to the objective of the award. The nominations in the prescribed application form must reach the Secretary, Indian Society of Agronomy by the notified date to be announced while inviting nominations. If the applicant desires, he/she may send an advance copy, but the action will be taken only when the application is received duly sponsored by the University/Institution concerned. The work submitted for some other award may also be considered for this award.

A panel of judges nominated by the Executive Council of the Society from time to time examines all nominations. The evaluation report of the judges is sent to the Executive Council, whose decision is final.

The candidate(s) selected for the award are awarded a Gold Medal and cash prize of Rs. 10,000/- usually during the biennial General Body Meeting of the Society. The recipient of the award is expected to deliver a talk based on his contributions submitted for the award.

The Society may also consider the payment of single first class railway fare or the bus fare, as the case may be, from the place of the posting to the place of biennial General Body Meeting and back in case the recipient(s) of the award fails to get fare for such propose from his sponsoring agency.

The previous recipients of ISA P.S. Deshmukh Young Agronomist Award are as follows:

2022Dr. V. Paramesha
Dr. V. Visha Kumari
Dr. Biswajit Pramanick
Dr. Chaitanya Prasad Nath
2021Dr. Jayanta Layek
Dr. Rakesh Kumar
Dr. Rishi Raj
Dr. Shankar Lal Jat
2020Dr M.A. Ansari
Dr P.K. Upadhyay
2019Dr Amit Kumar Jha
Dr Vijay Pooniya
2018Dr Subhash Babu
Dr Ram Avatar Jat
2017Dr Kapila Shekhawat
Dr Sumit Chaturvedi
2016Dr R.S. Bana
2015Dr Parvender Sheoran
2014Dr Anil Kumar Choudhary
Dr Chiter Mal Parihar
2013Dr A.V. Ramanjaneyulu
Dr Ramanjit Kaur
2011Dr M.N. Thimmegowda
2010Dr. D.R. Palsaniya
2009Dr. Narendra Kumar
2008Dr. Anup Das
2007Dr. K.A. Gopinath
2006Dr. Ravindra Singh
2005Dr S.S. Walia
2004Dr. M.L. Jat
2002Dr. J.V.N.S. Prasad
2001Dr. V.K. Singh
2000Dr. Dinesh Kumar
1999Dr. J.S. Mishra
1998Dr. Guriqbal Singh
1997Dr. H.S. Shivaramu
1995Dr. Jose Mathew